Paranormal Activity Review

I first saw The Blair Witch Project when I was 12. It scared the crap out of me. And because I’m an idiot, I thought it was real footage. It was only 2 or 3 years ago I discovered out it was only made to look like that. Paranormal Activity was shot in the same manner, like a documentary. The film focuses on young couple, Micah and Katie. Katie believes the house is haunted so Micah sets up a camera in the bedroom (doooorty) to see if anything is actually haunting them. The film is basically the footage captured on the camera.

To give a little back story Paranormal Activity was originally released to film festivals back in 2007 having been made on a budget of $15,000. By 2008 it made its way to DreamWorks and Stephen Spielberg. It scared the hell out of him, and he commissioned a remake for more cinemas. However when they screened the original film to a select audience, people left the screening they were so scared. The original film stayed, bar some changes to the ending, and was released in America in October making $103,847,000 , the most profitable independent film ever.

I don’t usually do scary films, or creepy/horror films in general. I hate the way they only scare you by making stuff jump out at you. The only horror film I liked lately was Drag Me To Hell which was horrifying just by being creepy and scary. No jumping out at you. Just scary. Paranormal Activity is like that. It won’t jump out at you. It will scare you. It will creepy you out. You know something is going to happen, but not what will happen or when. There’s no big monster or demon to frighten you. It ignores the horror film clichés like a group of people in the woods or a serial killer. There’s no gore, CGI or costumes either. It’s just a young couple trying to find out what’s going on in their house by recording everything that happens. And it’s terrifying. I had trouble getting to sleep after watching it because I kept thinking I could hear something in the hall walking towards my door or at my window. You become scared by what’s not even there. I’m finding hard to describe the way the film works at this point. I’ll just finish by saying you owe it to yourself to see Paranormal Activity. This is a rare film that only comes along once in a while. Appealing to both horror and casual fans alike, even the sceptics will be pleasantly surprised.

3 responses

  1. Scotty - YOU KNOW WHO I AM!! MUAHAHA cough..

    Cough,
    I would just like to point out, that your incorrect, ****** was not haunted… **** was!!! … FAIL! 😀 hahaha

    LOVE YOU ATKINS!!

    December 18, 2009 at 7:25 pm

  2. Edited for spoilers Cian! for shaaaaaame.

    December 18, 2009 at 8:05 pm

  3. Scotty - YOU KNOW WHO I AM!! MUAHAHA cough..

    But but but!!.. WE know this from the TRAILER? hahahahaha

    December 18, 2009 at 8:42 pm

Leave a Reply

